The Tell-Tale heart

In honor of Halloween tomorrow I thought I would write a review of The Tell-Tale Heart written by Edgar Allen Poe. Anyone who has ever read Poe knows that most if not all of his stories have an element of horror in them. The Tale-Tale Heart is no exception, it is a masterful depiction of madness. The Tale-Tale Heart begins with the line “True!-nervous-very,very dreadfully nervous I had been and I am; but why will you say I am mad?”  The narrator spends much time focusing on the fact that they are “not” mad. In the story they describe how and why   they killed the old man. It was his eye, near the end of the story the police come by which make our narrator giddy because of their cleverness in hiding the body of the old man. In the end the narrator collapses and confesses because of the beating of the tell-tale heart.

I cannot find it in myself to criticize this story.  It is beautiful in an erie way. One of the main interests of the story is that Poe never specifies which sex the narrator is, which is interesting see whether you and your friends think it is a male or a female. I personally believe it is a man but let me know what you think in comments. Now go and read this fascinating story here. Then when you have read it tell me what you think.

Love You All, See You on Friday

Ps: I apologize for the shortness of this post and for not posting on Monday, life got in the way (aka my internet crashed). i’m trying to be as regular as possible but i have three essay’s due this weeek.

2 thoughts on “The Tell-Tale heart

  1. I remember reading the Tell-tale heart when I was doing my GCSE’s it is quite a good “horror” story for the age, and even now.

  2. captainwafflez says:

    The Tell Tale Heart is definitely up there with my favourites from Poe. (Heck, I got it tattooed on my arm! Lols)

    I think, I feel, like it must from a male perspective. Not least because of how the other characters interact with him (or her..) If you put it into context it doesn’t feel true to the time for it to be female.

    But then, I’m not Poe, so who knows?

    The man was a genius. And now he is a god.

    😉

    Cool review!

Leave a Reply

